Hello Rebels,

My name is Ellis and I have come back to the forums after a long break, during which I walked far, slayed a few metaphorical monsters and left a few others behind.

As this new year begins, I want to make friends of some of my remaining foes; issues that I keep coming back to in dark times, and now feel I have enough energy to deal with.

Work

Work is not a foe; I love my job. But being a freelancer, I constantly struggle with stress, balance and scheduling. I stay up late, sleep in, work irregular hours and feel that I never have time for anything other than work. My first step in dealing with this will be to sort out my sleep schedule.

Sedentariness

I like sitting still, all my interests and hobbies are sedentary. But for the sake of my mental and physical wellbeing, I need to move around more. I want to get back in to running, and maybe some sort of strength training or yoga eventually. My first step will be daily walks.

Other people

I'm an introvert, working a lonely job, and last year I moved to a new town during a global pandemic. I spend a lot of time by myself. But I like people! Once the opportunity arises, I want to make an effort to meet some new friends, and join a community through sports, hobbies or church. As things are, I will focus on keeping in touch with my existing friends, and try to explore this and other digital forums.

Myself

Eh, there is no specific goal for this. I just put it here as a reminder to be like Barf, and not beat myself up about getting everything right.

12-Spaceballs-quotes.gif.2721c77358920dc726e295a9be39106b.gif

For this first challenge, my goals are going to be simple:

• Wake up at 7:30 every day for the first two weeks, then consider changing it to 7 am. I anticipate it being difficult to get out of bed at first, but after a while I think the biggest hardship will be getting to bed on time in the evening so that I get enough sleep.

• Walk 5 km every day.