Can't get abs to show after two years of training

I've been doing strength training for nearly two years now and for over a year I've pretty much consistently trained my abs for five days a week (around 30 - 50 minutes per session), alongside strength training, but I've gained no ab definition at all. I don't know what my body fat percentage is, but I'm not overweight (slightly under in fact - trying to gain a bit) so it could be a layer of fat covering them. I do a wide variety of exercises, some using a dumbbell, to target all areas. But I still have absolutely no definition and I don't know why. I think my diet is pretty good and I eat plenty of protein, so I wouldn't think it's that. Any thoughts?

2 hours ago, Firecrest said:

I've been doing strength training for nearly two years now and for over a year I've pretty much consistently trained my abs for five days a week (around 30 - 50 minutes per session), alongside strength training, but I've gained no ab definition at all. I don't know what my body fat percentage is, but I'm not overweight (slightly under in fact - trying to gain a bit) so it could be a layer of fat covering them. I do a wide variety of exercises, some using a dumbbell, to target all areas. But I still have absolutely no definition and I don't know why. I think my diet is pretty good and I eat plenty of protein, so I wouldn't think it's that. Any thoughts?