Emma: recovery I of III

I was born with a wonky heart. All my life I have known  that Someday Something Would Have to be Done.

Someday was last week.I had a cardiac ablation. This is a procedure where they put wires inside my heart and kill the nerves that are sending out signals that make my heart beat irregularly. The procedure went well. My heart will be healing for the next three months ( they put some holes in my heart to get the wires in place, yikes) and the procedure won’t be considered a success until I have gone three months without any irregular heart rate episodes. I am currently still on  medical leave and restricted activity.

I will probably be cleared by the end of the week to go back to work and my regular routines except for exercise. I will have to build up gradually to my former fitness level (ha!) The little bit of exercise I was doing got dumped by the wayside during the pandemic. I am an xray tech. I was  wearing the isolation gowns made from garbage bags and re-using PPE that was meant for single use and holding hands with dead people (this was not part of the job description!).  Some people went the “oh my god I need to get healthy” route,  I went the comfort food route instead. And that (along with the stress) probably helped get me to Someday a lot faster.

What I Have Been Learning: 

Multiple ER visits and surgery has meant lots of lab work being done. I am able to access all those lab results and have learned a lot.

My magnesium was testing low on multiple ER visits. Mg does affect one’s heart so I started taking Mg citrate supplement. On a more recent blood test my Mg level was up in the green zone. Yayi