Not stopping at "Good Enough"

richdf

Hi, I'm a 34 yr old, married, father of two, and I had always been able to eat whatever I wanted, exercise as little as needed, and never really change shape from tall & skinny. I had been promising myself for 10 years+ that I would get fit & muscley one day... like it would happen by itself.

I changed jobs in Feb 2011 from an physically active field-based role, to a mentally active office based role. In addition to my new desk-jockey position, the office fridge sat just behind me and was always stocked full of different cakes & chocolate cake bars. I had found my ideal job & snack fix... or so I thought. Fast forward 11 months & my trousers seemed to have shrunk considerably, I was suffering with digestive issues, lacking in energy, and I wasn't as happy as I used to be.

I had my light-bulb moment in January of this year, when I was diagnosed with an inflammatory bowel disorder. After reading up on the condition, I decided to take action & make some changes. I had read about the Paleo diet, and managed to land on Steve's blog "The beginners Guide to the Paleo Diet". After reading the blog, I decided I wanted to try Paleo. After some discussion with my better half, and some "what's the worst that can happen?" type conversations, we both decided to jump in at the deep end and try Paleo for 30 days.

Since then (and settling on a Primal lifestyle (Paleo + some dairy)), I have more energy, feel healthier, I've dropped a waist size, and I've been exercising - and I enjoy it!:smug:

I think my attributes currently stand as follows:

STR=4, DEX=3, STA=2, CON=2, WIS=3, CHA=1

As I feel my diet is going great at the moment, I am focusing on fitness goals. By the end of 6 weeks, I aim to be able to:

• Perfrom 10 1 leg squats (either leg) (STR +2, DEX +1)
  • Perform 10 chinups in a single set (STR +3)
  • Cycle 5 miles in 30 minutes (STA +2, CON +2)