• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

progress126

Back pain with low bar squats

I've been squatting now for at least several months now. I'm at 265 lbs in terms of working weight and a high bar squat. I've read up on Rippetoe's low bar squats and tried them out yesterday. Warm up sets were fine but once I got heavy the back pain commenced. It's sore above the small of my back, where one would get a lower back tattoo (or tramp stamp! ;) ). It was sore all of yesterday after we left the gym and I couldn't sit or lie down or try to get up without some sort of pain. It starts to when I twist my back or am sitting for a lengthy period like driving. I have a stand up desk and it doesn't hurt to stand. I take it I went to heavy on the low bar squats way to quickly. Once the pain is gone, I will return to squatting but a most likely stick with my high bar squats unless someone has a better suggestion. From what I understand, the low bar squat engages more of your hamstrings and posterior chain than high bar ones. I'd like to get the most bang for my squat but don't want to come out with back pains because of it. Thanks again guys! And if your wondering, I've had no major groin pains to contend with!

In all seriousness, it sounds like you're letting the bar go too far forward. Trying to "good morning" your squat weight is most likely going to leave you with back pain like that. Low bar is a different beast to high bar with completely different mechanics, so you're going to have to learn form all over again.

Yeah, I tried low-bar for one set and it wasn't pretty. Keeping the bar over your feet means you get into the hole in a completely different position than the high-bar squat. There's a good graphic I saw in another thread that explains it well, but heck if I remember where it is. I'm sure somebody has it...