Pickles embrace rangerdom challenge.

PicklesEBF

A little about me.

I am a 31 year old firefighter-paramedic in the peoples republic of Illinois. I work for two departments. One full time, and one part time. Combining that work schedule with an attempt at a social life makes for interesting times when it comes to prioritizing fitness.

I had some nice, reasonable goals last challenge. Unfortunately, attempting one of my goals aggravated an old shoulder injury. That pretty much took me out of the hunt completely. I still managed to drop 7lbs though.

My primary goal is to embrace a healthier lifestyle. I'm a lot less sedentary since my last challenge, despite failing spectacularly at most of my goals.

My goals for this challenge are centered on embracing what I consider to be some primary ranger charasteristics, within the realm of rehabbing my busted ass shoulder.

Goal #1 "A Ranger should be able to travel great distances to deliver a message or join in a battle."

Put in a minimum of 200 total miles on by bicycle before the end of the challenge. (Average of 40 miles per week, minus vacation week.)

(+3 STA, +1 WIS)

Goal #2 "A Ranger should be able to cover a good distance in a short amount of time."

Beat my 5K PR in an organized race. (29:35) (Gonna happen Sept 30th.)

(+1 STR, +2 STA, +1 DEX)

Goal #3 "A Ranger should be fully capable of living off the land."

PALEO! I will complete the Primal Blueprint 21 day challenge (Dietary portion only.) before the end of this challenge.

(+2 CON, +1 WIS)

Goal #4 "A Ranger should be well versed in unconventional warfare and transportation."

GET OUT AND PLAY! Once a week I will get out and do something fun and active for a MINIMUM of an hour. Be it a trip to the shooting range, a paddleboarding lesson, going swimming, going kayaking, going in the back yard and throwing tomahawks. At least an hour of active play time each week.

(+1 STR, +1 DEX, +1 STA, +1 WIS)

*IMPORTANT NOTE*