Slacker to Superdad: the journey begins

29 Years I've been a slacker. I was always smart enough to get by without a whole lot of work, and I learned early on to only put my effort where it would have impact, not to waste my time on things that didn't matter. The way I saw it, I wasn't overweight and I didn't have much use for the ability to lift heavy objects or participate in organized sports, so I neglected my body in pursuit of other goals. I am a 6'4'' 140lb adult male who can't run 10 minutes around the block without feeling terrible for 2 hours after. I was OK with this, it was the opportunity cost of the advancement I had done in my career (I'm a small business CPA serving the creative disciplines) and the work I had put in to make myself a more emotionally balanced person. I was OK with what I wasn't doing. I was OK with being a slacker.

on August 19th 2012 at 4:03 AM I stopped being OK with being a slacker. After 2 days straight of being awake, a crippling panic attack and a pain so bad in my neck I couldn't hold my son, I was done being an incomplete human. I knew I needed to change. For the past few weeks I've been agonizing in the back of my head on how to get fit the best way possible, how do I set it up so I don't fail but still get results I want. I woke up and did as many push ups as I could (half assed push ups) and felt terrible, then I felt great! then my arms were sore for the next 4 days. This wasn't working.

A far-more-fit-than-I friend came across the site and thought it was a cool concept, so I started reading it up and liked how I could relate. I read the classes, I read the exercises, I got excited about all the things I could be. So now that the Iron is hot, Here's what I'm hopin to accomplish:

1. I want to be more fit - I don't know exactly what that means yet, but I know I have a lot of work to do on strength, stamina and agility to balance myself out.