Slightly experienced dieter/exerciser needs some tips... (Ex paleo, looking for answers)

lucidzfl

So this is my first post in the forums so I apologize for my newbieness.  I am however, no stranger to diet/exercise and am now at the point that I want to balance life happiness with a healthy lifestyle and increase overall strength.

I've already done the hard part, losing 35 lbs and gotten myself into a good regimen of working out first thing in the morning.

Currently, I'm about 157lbs @ 15% body fat and don't want to have to ultra compromise my diet further to gain more strength/lose fat %.  I'm reaching  the point now where i get very hungry all the time and have been continuing to avoid carbs by snacking on salads and fruit just to feel full throughout the day.  I believe my hunger is a biproduct of the increased exercise   

When I first started working out, I could go <50 carbs daily with no problems, but as soon as I started lifting, it started getting bad.  I also feel that one problem with the paleo diet is that it skews the reduction in carbs as a drastic increase in fat.  I looked at a meal I had yesterday, and it was high in calories and saturated fat, although extremely low in carbs.  I feel that such a massive swing is not necessarily healthy.  Therefore I want to re-balance my diet, focusing on whole foods and try and live a happy medium.

Thusly, my question is what kind of carbs to include, and when?

Rice for example is confusing.  Which rice is better, white, brown, basmati, jasmine, or none at all?  What about potatoes?  I don't eat fried food so thats not a concern, but I've read that mashing potatoes increases the volume while keeping the carbs the same, at the cost of fat (butter/cream) which I'm fine with, but is it ok?  What about making home made pasta?  Its 25% lower in carbs (around 30 per serving) and better on calories, plus its obviously not processed...