I like the fitness & fighting aspects of martial arts, what should I do?

I really enjoy MMA, and eventually want to fight in an amateur fight.  I am doing the Insanity workout video series RELIGIOUSLY in order to reach the fitness level - at least for now (it is working really well!  I would definitely recommend it.)  I want to learn how to fight/grapple now.  The only issue is the only place I can do so is at my school's Kyukushin Karate club (I am studying abroad in Africa currently and have no access to transportation).  The issue is that while they do spar and work out for part of the practice, a good percent of the time they work on things I do not care about (forms, katas, unrealistic to fighting scenario moves), and it is tough for me to go to all of the practices (busy schedule).  

Should I go to this club or really push myself on my own?  I mean if its the best option, I should just suck it up and go to the club practices, but are there resources for getting ready for an Amateur MMA fight on my own (whether they are online, in book form, etc.)

Also, it should be noted that while I am quite fit right now, I think that a couple years of hard training will be necessary to move me to this goal.  I am thinking very long term.

I am new to NF and so I thought I'd ask this awesome community what you all think.  

Thanks for your time, and I appreciate anyone reading this :)

Any true fighter will tell you that what you learn in training at your gym is all related to developing skill as a fighter. This includes discipline, theory, scenarios, etc.

I AM going the distance

'Cause all I wanna do is go the distance. Nobody's ever gone the distance with Creed, and if I can go that distance, you see, and that bell rings and I'm still standin', I'm gonna know for the first time in my life, see, that I weren't just another bum from the neighborhood.