My name is Kelsey. I'm a 26-year-old kindergarten teacher who recently (May 2012) earned her master's in special education. As the job title might imply, my days are full of movement and I'm one of those obnoxious people who can be cheery at 7:30 AM without the judicious application of caffeine. My nerdy interests include: reading EVERYTHING, from the literary canon to sci-fi/fantasy to comics to education magazines; most of your standard geek media; writing (novels, short stories, dabbling in poetry); and creating the perfect playlist for any given event/media/moment in time. I like running, yoga, and swimming. I have also been known to hit the dance floor from 10 PM to last call. (Maybe not as impressive as it sounds--last call is around 1:45 AM. Thanks, Boston.)

NF's very own jofalltrades was my college roommate, which is how I ended up here. :) See, when you're around kids all the time (or humans, really, but that's another story), you really start to grasp the importance of getting up and moving around. Last year, I changed teaching jobs to one where my lunch break coincided with my kids' recess, and all of a sudden I wasn't running around anymore. My job still entailed a great deal of movement, but there was no more tag and significantly fewer spontaneous dance parties. I was miserable! Part of it was the whole transition to a new job, but I missed the consistent exercise.