Doc Brian Chapter 2: Doc's Plans Are Revealed

Doc Brian

I had planned to do another little story that summarized what happened last time and set the stage for this challenge, but I went on a business trip this past week and never got around to it.  Oh, well.  Maybe later.

On to the current challenge!

As luck would have it, I already set up a mid-range quest with a one year conclusion…

The Quest: Conquer an Adventure 5k

Growing up, I was very underweight (125 pounds at 5' 11" when I graduated high school).  After I got married, I started filling out... and kept on filling out.  My biggest weight was 205 pounds.  Not horrible, but definitely overweight. 

In 2011 after getting my PhD, I landed a job as a computer science professor near my hometown in Arkansas.  In 2012, I began hiking around a lake about a mile from my house, exploring areas I had roamed as a kid.  I've always enjoyed hiking, canoeing, and similar outdoor activities, and the nostalgia was especially fun, but I eventually wanted more.  I started to try trail running.  My initial attempts weren't too successful, but I kept at it off and on.

Spring/Summer of 2013 was the turning point for me.  By this point, I had two clearly visualized and mutually supportive goals:

• Not content with jogging around the lake trails, I will be able to run up and down the steep hills, leap over ravines, and vault over logs and boulders.  I will be the trail running version of a Parkour Traceur.
  • As a more concrete goal, I will compete in various adventure/mud runs like Warrior Dash, Tough Mudder, and Spartan Sprint.  I won't just finish them; I will do well. 

Target date for completion: May 2014.

[iframe width=560 height=315 src=//www.youtube.com/embed/xk6hFwBkxy4 frameborder=0 allowfullscreen][/iframe]

Ok, so I'm not going to do this by next year.  I don't even want to do some of those jumps.  

But an amateur version of this is what I'm talking about.