Kiwi Will Get Fit and Finish Her Dissertation!

Hi Everyone,

This my first challenge.  I will post daily to help me keep on track and stay on track.

A little about me:  I am currently a PhD student trying to get her dissertation done.  I am in the proposal phase and have been stuck in this phase for about two years (Yes, I know!  How slow of a thinker/writer can I be and how many drafts does this take?!).  I finally got my research questions approved last week (YAY!) and now need my dissertation proposal completely written (chapters 1, 2, and 3) & approved by my two co-chairs of the committee before I can defend my proposal to the full committee (targeting mid-October/early November).  I plan to work hard and write as much as I can in the next few months so that I can make the March 2014 deadline for the dissertation defense and the May 2014 Graduation.  Since I started my PhD program, the work/life balance has been a struggle--I have put on twenty pounds, moved a few hundred miles away from school, and started a full-time position.

My motivation:  I have been working full-time as a research associate at a research company over a year ago.  I like what I do, but in the last couple of months, I have grown unhappy and uncertain if this is the career I want.  I have also felt tired and have little to no energy for most days in the week.  I realize that the unhappiness in my work life is somehow connected to the slow progress on my dissertation. 

Also, after some soul searching about what I want to do with my life, I realized that my passion still lies with teaching.  So I want to change the unhappy aspects of my life by getting myself ready for a faculty position.  Thus, I need to get fit so that I have more energy to focus and get my dissertation done!  My motivation for staying on track this time is to focus on faculty job searches that will begin in a few months and be able to graduate by May 2014.