If I Take One Step Further...

So, at some point in Fellowship of the Ring, Sam turns to Frodo and says, "If I go one step further, I'll be the farthest from home I've ever been."

That's how I feel about my fitness journey. I've yo-yoed back and forth with my weight and fitness level for so long. Every time I get to a "place" I've never been before, life "gets in the way"--i.e., I start making excuses. I want to stop making excuses, make the time for fitness and health, and take the ring ALL THE WAY TO MOUNT DOOM. Once I get there, I guess the Eagles can fly me back. But I gotta get there first.

I call myself a runner, though over the summer I kind of slacked off running and am now working to build those muscles back up. I'd like to run a half-marathon in November--my first. I don't have a time goal; I just want to finish. I am also a roller derby referee, and I'd like to improve my on-skates skills and endurance. However, sometimes my running goals and skating goals conflict. I went through some physical therapy last winter because weak hip/glute muscles led to knee pain when I tried to both run and do derby at the same time. As part of my challenge, I want to make injury avoidance a priority.

~SO~

Main Quest:

Lose 15 pounds by December 17th.

Goals:

1. Exercise: Derby twice per week, run three times per week, strength train twice per week
  2. Diet: Stop eating out at work
  3. Injury prevention: Complete at least one set of physical therapy exercises once per day. Ice once per day

Life Quest:

ELIMINATE CREDIT CARD DEBT.

Motivation: