LittleMissSunshine's Battle Log of Badassery

I'm going to start this log with some backstory, so y'all can get to know me a little better, and understand where I'm coming from. Weight and fitness has been an issue for me since I graduated from high school many (many, many, many, many) moons ago. Moving from the mountains to the city made me soft, and being medicated for anxiety and depression certainly didn't help - in fact, I ended up gaining a rather large amount of weight. Fast forward a few years - I struggled on and off with dieting and halfhearted gym membership attempts through my early to mid-20s. My weight was mostly stable, but I was also mostly fat. And then, then the kids came along. Pregnancy did me no favours, let me tell you. And two of them? Hoo boy. I hit my highest adult weight of my life after my son was born - 248lbs.

And then my mom had a heart attack, at the relatively young age of 51. She lived, thank goodness, but it was a reality check, not just for her, but for me. I realized then that I needed to get my proverbial fitness shit together for my family, but more importantly, for myself. I needed to start shedding that weight before I was the next heart disease statistic. And so it began, in late 2011, my quest to become smaller. The quest quickly became less weight loss and more fitness, as I surrounded myself with the athletic type. I joined a floor hockey team, and then was invited to join a second. I was slow as hell those early seasons, and I knew right away that I wanted to be faster. To be faster, I needed to be fitter.