My Ups and Downs; An Intro

Hello Gang,

I stumbled across this site thanks to The Art of Manliness blog and I am so glad to have found it. My name is Russell, I'm 31 and I am a writer in the great state of Alabama. And I had officially let myself go. I'd always been up and down with my weight. Even 10 years ago when I was in the Air Force I'd balloon up to my max allowed weight before hitting the gym and dropping a few. I was always good at losing weight, but even better at gaining it right back. I struggle with sticking with a routine more than 6 months.

After the military I got married and had children and once again let myself go. Badly. 5'8 and 200 pounds of Burger badly. I woke up one day and found myself single again so I took up boxing. I loved it. I got my weight down to a very fit 165 pounds, but like most other times I lost weight, I lost interest. And I started to gain again. More and more. Until the other day, almost two years to the day I quit boxing, I weighed in at 220 pounds. I knew it was bad when I couldn't walk the stairs in a Basketball Coliseum without being winded. Even worse though, was how bad my mental outlook had become. It's as I've been living in a constant state of depression. And rather than fight back and try to climb out of it, I accept the depression and drag my heels all day feeling sorry for myself.

A few days ago I decided enough was enough. It's time to get back to being the man I want to be and can be. For me, for my children, for my health. So I started working out on my own at home and have by a stroke of good fortune found myself here. And what an awesome place and group of folks it appears to be. Thanks so much for this site and the articles. I can't wait to get to know everyone better on this awesome journey.

• Like 1

Well, from a fellow Alabamian, welcome!

Sorry to hear about you ups and downs. Life has a way of testing us. But I'm really glad you dug in your heels, and are starting to make a change.