• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Teeraw2000

How much weight should I be deadlifting (women)????

Hey guys,

So, I started deadlifting today. after reading Steve's article on performing a proper deadlife, but I have no idea how much I should be lifting? I did a 45 pound bar bell. But, when I go online and look at deadlift videos for women, I see girls lifting much, much more and 3x5 reps.

I know it is strength dependent. I am not a beginner, but I am not a pro at lifting. I am 5'9, 157 pounds and just want to make sure I am getting the most of it, as it is recommended that women do deadlifts.

Thoughts??

• Like 1

Lift what is a challenge, but a weight you can keep you back straight at.  :)  It is absolutely okay to start lower and then just add weight every time you deadlift.  Weightlifting is not a race and not something that is comparative to anybody else but yourself. (ie: do not care what any other woman lifts, she could have been doing it for years!)

Get a buddy to watch to make sure you aren't going into flexion in your spine. If it flexes it is possible you have hit the "too much weight" for your supporting muscles and tendons. 

heavy is not a number.  And asking how much you should be lifting is completely irrelevant and arbitrary to almost anything unless your completing- and then the answer will be- more than your competitor. 

Heavy is rep range. My friends can't rep 135.  That's ONE of my warm up weights.

it's completely relative to where YOU are in your training.

Start with the bar- add some weight- work your way up. If you are following a program- follow the program (Which from your two posts combined- I highly would suggest you doing)

New rules of lifting (for men or women either or)

Strong Curves

Starting Strength 5x5

all excellent programs.