• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Quilly

Calling all Capoeiristas!

I've been going to a Capoeira class for 8 months now and even though it often leaves me gasping for breath collapsed against a wall, I love it. Especially the musical aspects of it. For all those who have participated in a roda before, you know what I mean when I say the vibe from having all that singing and instruments going on while you're in the ring is fantastic. Such great energy. 

What are your experiences with Capoeira? :D 

• Like 1

I'm new to it too. I've been taking Capoeira classes for about 3 months and the whole martial art is great! I have a long ways to go before being any kind of decent. But I agree the energy in the roda is amazing. It actually feels like the music is pushing you.

*puts up her hand* can i still buy into this game? been playing with Cordau De Ouro in Perth for the last 2 years or so. Still suck, but still having fun :D

I absolutely hate it.  I think it's awesome but when I tried it I would always freeze in the Roda.  I'm not one who can practice new moves for a half hour then somehow incorporate that into a 'dance' with another person.  My common sense self kept trying to apply it to martial arts, but when I followed that line of thought my instincts are to strike, not do Capoeira moves. 

I also suck at dancing, so maybe that's why Capoeira was so hard for me.

It's cool to watch people who are good at it though.

my instincts are to strike, not do Capoeira moves

This is often a huge problem for new players, afterall half the moves are kicks! But try to think of it not as a competition or spar, but as a conversation. A good conversation is not where one person speaks and the other person cant get a word in, but one where both people can talk and respond to one another. Capoeira is the same, every movement should encourage your partner to move and respond. Flow is what to strive for, a good conversation.