Newbie's First Steps

I'm brand new to NerdFitness, but too impatient to wait until the next full challenge.

My _long term_ goal is to increase the number of steps I take per day to 10,000 (6 days a week unless ill).

My holiday goal is to manage 6000 per day, as measured by my Basis Band, every day of the holiday period. This is an increase from the 5000 I can manage fairly reliably.

Running is strictly optional - this is a walking challenge. (I got over-enthused yesterday and did too much running, now my IT band hates me :-( Making myself "too sore to walk" is not part of the plan :-()

Update: Because of the disparity between my new Fitbit Force and my old Basis Band, I'm using the pessimistic Basis Band as the arbiter - except that if I do 10K steps according to the Fitbit, it counts as 6 K on the Basis Band.

Update: I saw that Grizzy has a table of daily results, and decided to be a copycat. Because of the conflicts between my activity trackers, I'm going to have rather a few columns:

Basis Band                    Fitbit Force

Day        Steps  Active  Walking  Steps Miles Floors

Dec 23    6719  26 min   ???         ???   ???    ???    

Dec 24    7013  35 min   ???      10254  4.55      2

Dec 25    6530  46 min  59 min  11328  5.03      1

Dec 26    6864  44 min  57 min   9019   4           1

Dec 27    6395  23 min  ???        8872   3           8  I'm finding 8 floors implausible; 3 or 4 seems more real

Dec 28    2807  0?         ???        5605   2.49      1  exhausted; slept from 7 PM till 8 the next morning

Dec 29    6523  37 min  54 min    8393   3.72     1 

Dec 30    6194  26 min  52 min    8584  3.81      1

Dec 31    6224  24 min  54 min    8510  3.78      2 major battle to complete this

Jan 1      3076+ 19+      25+         9837  4.36      2 Basis band was charging (not worn) during Am walk....

Jan 2      6927  32 min  55?         9289  4.12      4 back to work (i.e. less free time)