The A1C War Begins! - The Upper Body Battle

This is my first try at a challenge and I'm feeling ready to go!  I'm a type 2 diabetic and my overall quest is to get my A1C number back down to 6.  I've done it before but in the last year it has jumped back up to over 9.  My next checkup isn't scheduled until late March so I'm not going to set an A1C number as the specific goal for this challenge.  In the past setting specific performance goals has served me well, so that is what I will do here.

Stats/Current Fitness Level

Male, 31 years old, 6'2" 172 lbs.  I currently run at least 3 times a week, usually 3-4 mile intervals.  For strength training I do mostly bodyweight exercises about 3 times a week.  

Main Quest

Increase my max outs on the following exercises:

Pull-ups:  Current - 13, Goal - 20

Chin-ups:  Current - 21, Goal - 30

Hand Stand Pushups:  Current - 13, Goal - 20

Goals

1. Maintain running at least 3 days a week.
  2. Keep a log of everything I eat.
  3. Strength train 4 times a week.

Life Goal

Get my wife out for more dates.  We've been married 5 years and now have two young daughters (2 and 4), so we don't get out much.  My primary motivation behind all of this is to make sure I can be there for all my girls for many more years but I have to make sure we actually take the time to enjoy each other along the way.

*Edit - Grading system below added on 1/21/2014

Grading

Goal 1:

• Every run workout of 3-5 miles = 4 points
  • Runs over 5 miles = 5 points
  • Lesser runs can receive a 1, 2 or 3 based on combination of whether they included hills or intervals

Goal 2:

• Food log is incomplete, or a large amount of junk food is consumed - 1 to 3 points
  • Food log is complete for the day - 4 points
  • Food log is complete and no junk food was consumed that day - 5 points

Goal 3:

• Workout includes some strength training but does not meet or exceed reps and/or weight in a previous workout - 1-3 points