The Roaring Twenties: One Flapper's Fitness Party

The Roaring Twenties: a time of cultural change, art, music, and parties.  My twenties weren't nearly so glamorous, but I was a student for a long time. Approaching the big 3-0, I'd like to get my fitness on track and take responsibility for my health, before I end up "crashing" down into a spiral of bad habits.

My 29th birthday is 5 weeks away (Eek!!!), meaning this is the last year of my twenties. This has lit a fire under my caboose to get myself together before my 20's are gone forever.

I'm hoping this challenge will kick-start some good habits that I can build on. I've tried and failed before, but I'm not deterred, especially if I can find some like-minded people to connect with for support.  Anyone care to join this flapper's fitness party?

Main Quest

My ultimate goal is to lose about 30 pounds.  In the next few weeks, I'd love to lose 10 pounds. I'd be happy with 5.

I want to feel better, to have more energy, to be stronger in my core, and to go on longer hikes.

Specific goals

I find weight loss difficult (don't we all?). The times I have been successful are when I axe the gym and just get active doing what I enjoy. Hence, my goals will be related to what I consider fun. It's a flapper girl's fitness party!

1) Dance more - My husband and I swing dance 1 hour each week (with a local club), but I'd like to practice outside of class to improve our skill and fitness.

2) Get outside - I love nature, but often don't get outside often enough in the winter. I'd like to hike, birdwatch, or just get outside for 1 hour each week.

3) Meal plan - I used to be really good at this, but fell off the wagon during some stressful times. I'd like to meal plan so that I can pack a lunch and eat home-cooked suppers.

Life Side Quest

READ

I've got a list of over 50 books I want to read. I'd like to get through at least 20 of them this year. For the purposes of this 6-week challenge, I'd like to read 2 hours every week.