Butter: Paleo or Not?

Tclenney4

Hey everyone. So I've just started one of the 6-week challenges this past Monday, and have been pretty successful already since switching to a full pale diet (2.4 pounds lost in only 2 days!). However, I had one question that I seem to get conflicting opinions on when doing research, and wanted y'alls opinions.

I have been using butter in my cooking since Monday. However, I've seen some sites say that butter should not be eaten at all, some sites say it is okay to eat butter, and some sites say to only use clarified butter.

I'm a college student, on a somewhat tight budget, and butter is the cheapest fat source available to me. However, I am willing to switch if it really is a problem.

What do you all think?

I don't know about Paleo or not (I don't do it), but I can strongly recommend coconut oil, assuming it's allowed for you! It's not the cheapest, but at the same time, you only need a very small amount in the pan when you cook (less than a tea spoon), and it gives everything you cook this amazing barely noticable smell and very very weak taste of coconut. And I absolutely love coconut, use it all the time! :D

Chubby Half Elf - Adventurer

Level 0

STR: 0 | DEX: 0 | STA: 0 | CON: 0 | WIS: 0 | CHA: 0

Challenge 1 | 2 | 3

As the main rules of Paleo are no dairy and no grains, I'd have to say no to butter being Paleo. 

Try doing what DChristian said or look for a cheap olive or rapeseed oil. 

Welcome aboard and well done with your progress thus far!

Pip-Boy read-out: Level 3 Sentinel:  S(STR)- 3 | P(CON)- 6 | E(STA)- 7 | C(CHA)- 6.5 | I(WIS)- 8 | A(DEX)- 4.5 | L(LUC)

Scratched on the case are the words- "You don't need a reason to help people".

Officially its not paleo because it falls into the dairy category, there is really no arguing about that.