Any tips for a newby?

MissCurlyFrog

Hey there :)

I've always been a little intimidated by large message boards and apparently I'm not too good at using the search function, so please excuse me if anything like this has been asked before, and if you're feeling kind direct me towards the thread, okay? :)

So I've read the starting-out-kit, and while I don't want to go full paleo (yet) I'd like to try limiting the paleo-no's. I've already tried leaving out dairy for a week and it seems I felt better, so I try to limit it as much as possible now. (Is soy-milk okay? I guess almond would be better.)

My problem is, I eat a lot of the paleo-no's - dairy, bread, pasta, rice, ... I have a sweet tooth and while I like dried fruit it's a lot more expensive than just grabbing a chocolate-bar. I always have a sweet breakfast, cereal or oat-porrige made with milk and honey or raisins for sweetness. I also have coffee (malt with milk or bean with cream) where I was already able to cut down on sugar. Lunch is also a bit problematic. I prefer having a hearty lunch cause I don't really have dinner most of the time. And since I'm a student I would actually like to prepare meals to take with me to campus so I don't have to buy stuff. So preferably something easy and fast to make, and especially something that tastes good when cold, because there's no means of warming it up...

All in all I would apreciate any tips on how to adjust my diet with these things in mind - links to other threads, recipes, etc, etc.

Thanks to all those who respond and have a nice day :)

Please take what I have to say and add it to other research, what works really well for me may not be ideal for you.

First of all what is your goal? It is to loose weight or bulk muscle?

Next calculate your calories and macros. I added this link from bodybuilding.com since I'm rather lazy at typing all of the information out.

http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=156380533