Always Hungry... and questions about fiber and veggies

Kris1007

I just discovered this magical place called Nerd Fitness about 2 weeks ago and love all the information I've received so far, however I am very new to Paleo and have some questions...

I'm about 2 weeks into cleaning up my diet, gradually going Paleo (still eat sweet potato, dairy, oatmeal and sweetened tea/coffee). I used to eat TONS of carbs; at every meal and most snacks. The carb/sugar withdrawal has been difficult, because I've been feeling more hungry than ever before. I never had a sweet tooth before, and now just seeing a picture of a piece of cake makes my mouth water. Being hungry all the time makes me want to eat more, and I find that my portion sizes at dinner are bigger (although all protein and vegetables and some starch). My weight has always been okay (5'5", 120lbs, but only working out 2-3x/week), however I'm terribly worried that all the increased portions of veggies and protein (~50-70g/day) are going to make me gain. I mean, I've steered clear of real bacon, ground beef and egg yolks for the past decade, and I feel so guilty eating it!!!!

Has anyone else had issues with gaining weight unintentionally? Especially because they are eating larger portions compared to pre-paleo? Or do I need to be strict with portion control and eat cashews or something after dinner?

Also, on a different note, I need breakfast vegetable ideas (besides sweet potato). I can't have just bacon and eggs every day. Or would a fiber supplement be adequate/beneficial?

Has anyone else had issues with gaining weight unintentionally? Especially because they are eating larger portions compared to pre-paleo?