I don't think I'm running correctly

Bryn

Heyo,

I just started up exercising and dieting again and something I've begun to do is running. I've never been much of a runner so I know that there are several things I'm getting wrong but one thing I know for sure is that I'm stepping wrong somehow. 

The calf muscle in my right leg gets really sore while I feel nothing in the calf muscle of my left leg. What am I doing wrong and how do I fix it? I think I'm using my right leg more than my left leg. When I go running it frustrates me so much that I stop and take a break just because I'm angry at myself. Help me please :(

and by running i mean jogging

Edit: Thanks for the replies everyone! I tried different shoes and it seemed to solve my problem so it's all good now :)

Hey! I'm new to running (ie jogging) so can't give you much advice, but...

My nearest running shop has a treadmill set up with a slow motion camera to film your feet whilst you run. I thought it was a great tool, although it can only show you what you're doing, not point out what you're doing wrong, and the staff might not be experienced enough to give you proper advice.

Worth a thought though... It might be obvious to you when you see the footage. :)

Make Life Rue The Day                             Turning back the clock                                                Recipe book  14

Life is far too short to take seriously

Hey! I'm new to running (ie jogging) so can't give you much advice, but...

My nearest running shop has a treadmill set up with a slow motion camera to film your feet whilst you run. I thought it was a great tool, although it can only show you what you're doing, not point out what you're doing wrong, and the staff might not be experienced enough to give you proper advice.

Worth a thought though... It might be obvious to you when you see the footage. :)

That! Well, mostly :)