Cledbo trains for battling Dragons

Cledbo

Soooo... hi? First post, I feel like a total noob. My post probably won't be as well formatted or thought out as some of the amazing ones I've seen on here in my trawling for ideas/inspiration (good job, everyone, because here I am!). *deep breath* Here we go!

Major Quest

aka Towards Level 20 (because I play old school D&D ;-)

Ironically, in just about 6 weeks, I have a long-john Army Reserve course to go on. With Special Forces people, who will dead-set kick my ass in physical training if I'm not ready. So I want to be ready.

My major goal for the end of this first challenge is to do a pre-course fitness test, and pwn it. Specific measures for this quest are:

1. 2.4km run in less than 12min (currently run at about 12:30)

2. 35+ military push-ups

3. 100 sit ups

4. 5km pack march with weapon, without collapsing in a huge heap at the end

and just generally not die when doing PT with the guys for four whole godforsaken weeks. (It'll be fun, really, the course itself - it's the PT I'm petrified of!)

Three Small Things

aka Taking it one encounter at a time

1. Running

Twice a week, for at least 20mins. This should be fairly easy, because I've volunteered for a scientific study that will make me do this for 3 of the upcoming 6 weeks, plus free sports bras! Universities are so handy.

For the purposes of increasing cardio fitness, and also not getting bored, Body Attack and Zumba will count.

2. Strength Training

Twice a week, anything which makes my muscles hurt and get stronger. Body Pump, Circuit class, bodyweight training, lifting - whatever I feel like (I'm a total schizophrenic when it comes to training, I get bored so quickly!). This will also include at least three 5km pack marches in the 6 week period, preferably more but they can be tough to schedule.

3. Beating the Sugar Dragon