Wayne_Kent_Seago next challenge: Shoring up the weak parts

These challenges have changed my life - I don't mean that in the cliche way, I mean it literally. When I found NerdFitness, I weighed 235 and my doctor wanted to put me on cholesterol-lowering medication. Today, I weight 195 and have lowered my cholesterol almost 20 points and I am no longer in the "danger zone"

My goal for the year is to run Disney's upcoming Tower of Terror 10-miler. I found someone who signed up for the race and now has a conflict - so I'm in!!!

I started training for this run during the last challenge using the Galloway training method suggested by Disney. This method involves running and walking, but I want to run the whole thing. I can consistently run 3+ miles now, so I am not a beginner, but I want to rock this thing so I need to focus.

Here are my goals for this challenge:

1. Stamina - Train using the Galloway training schedule for the Disney Tower of Terror 10-milers. It is 3 weekly runs with two runs at 30 mins each and then a long run day beginning at 2 miles and moving up a mile a week. (Total of 18 runs)

A= 17 - 18 runs, B= 15 - 16 runs, C= 13 - 14 run, anything less than 13 is an F

2. Strength - Complete a cross-training workout 2x per week. One of the things I noticed and mentioned in my follow up to the last challenge, is that my cross training workouts were not very dynamic. I limped through the BBW with no gusto. This time, I will vary up the cross-training to include kickboxing, T25 and other higher intensity workouts.

A= 11-12, B= 9-10, C=7 - 8, anything less than 7 is an F

3. Push-ups - Push-ups are the perfect multi-muscle exercise and a good indication of strength. Over the course of the challenge I will do 1,250 push-ups.

A= 1200-1250, B = 1150-1199, C = 1100-1149, less than 1100 is an F