• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Gnomiee

Self Taught Martial Arts?

Hey!

Im doing a lot of working out but what I want to work in is some Martial Arts exercises or training. 
Im a college student and can't afford a class right now, but what I want to do is find some exercises I can do on my own to prepare me for when I can start going to a class. 

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Probably the most important thing you can work on is your conditioning.  I'd be careful of practicing techniques on your own - there's a lot of subtly to martial arts, and it's easy to hurt yourself if you're not doing all the little things just right.  You don't want to build bad habits that require ages of unlearning later on, either.  So if I were you, I'd focus on my conditioning!  That way, when you start formal practice you'll be able to run circles around the other beginners.  Importantly, you'll also have enough energy to maintain form throughout the training sessions!

• Like 1

I think I would second the above comment from Jprev. Conditioning is definitely a good thing to work on solo. It should probably be your starting point, particularly if you have no one to fine-tune any techniques you try.

You might also want to practice moving. Not sure what you are looking to study, but i find that movement practice (from as simple as learning to walk well, through to transitioning between being on the floor and upright [and vice versa], and everything in between) is perhaps the most useful thing for me currently. Some good research in to biomechanics might help.

I agree with Jprev. Without an instructor to correct you, you run the risk of developing bad habits that will take ages to correct later on. Conditioning is all you could really do to prepare and will pay off in the long run.

Hey!

Im doing a lot of working out but what I want to work in is some Martial Arts exercises or training.