• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Balthazar

Conditioning

Hey there

I would like to include some conditioning in my work outs, such as bunny hops that I know are used in kung fu and probably others, as well as going down stairs on all fours.

I wondered if anyone had any conditioning exercises they had used that seem specific to martial arts rather than generic exercises like running, press ups and planks.

Any ideas would be very much appreciated

• Like 1

Hey there! Just saw this thread sittin there, all by its lonesome, and figured I'd chime in.

First things first, your question seems a little vague. As there are many types of martial arts, there really isn't a generic answer out there. I've no experience with soft styles, so I'll do my best to answer with what I know.

In general, the standard "conditioning" exercises (things like pushups, pullups, squats, etc.) are so common place is that they are extremely efficient at what they do. That being said, you can always find "modifications" to these exercises by combining them with aspects of martial arts. Some examples that I use on a regular basis would be doing pushups on my knuckles as opposed to open hands to emphasis striking position and condition the knuckles, wrists, and forearms, or doing a squat before throwing a kick.

That being said, if you're truly working as hard as you can when training, the conditioning will invariably take care of itself. If you're throwing hard kicks and punches every time, you're engaging several muscle groups at a time, including that all-important core. So, my suggestion would be to start by upping the intensity of each strike you throw (unless you're going slower for a specific reason, which can also count towards that conditioning itself. Try throwing 50 slow roundhouses with correct technique, without setting your foot down, and without letting your leg drop below your waist. You'll see what I mean).

Hope this helps!