Student Paramedic in need of Warrior advice!

ChrisMcL

Longtime NF reader, first time poster here. Please forgive the long-windedness.

I'm currently in my first semester of Primary Care Paramedic training in Toronto, and our lift requirements have got me concerned. We're currently into our second week, but lift tests are coming up fast (week 5), and I'm only just finding out that I haven't got the strength.

3 weeks from Friday, we're supposed to do 5 different lifts with a 170-lb "patient" (weighted mannequin), and proper form requires that we squat deep (in one case, on stairs), lift, and hold a weight for an extended period of time.

I'll attach a few links to example videos of these particular lifts, and I'll note where my college's form differs.

It's important to note that these are all 2-person lifts., with the exception of the ambulance loading, which is essentially the same as the stretcher lift, just with one end in an ambulance.

Stair Chair -

(For us, we need to go up/down 2 flights of stairs, with a landing in between, twice – once at the head and once at the bottom. The bottom guy in the video carries with his arms extended, but we need to squat down low and grab the bar with arms curled to our chest and hands together, to lift from there. We need to do this squat both going up and going down, but being a bigger guy, my squats never seem to be low enough to lift without my back, even at 120 lbs – which is an insta-fail on our test.)

Backboard/Stretcher Lift -

(This is basically the same for us. Given that it's 2 different lifts, I've counted it as 2)

Fore and Aft -

(also basically the same

So far my progress on all of these has been stuck at the 120 lb patient (even the 2-person lifts), and I just can't seem to lift any heavier.