... I should have posted here first

Hail Nerds of Fitness,

I am a humble dwarf from the Northeast. I have been posted to guard duty for a couple of years now and as such I have grown large around the middle. I am seeking to regain my dwarven fighting spirit with an ability to swing my double bladed ax for days. 

Now in all seriousness,

I'm 5'8 and 240 lbs. I work as a security guard. During some long nights on post I would eat some serious crud to stay awake and as such I went from 220 lbs to 250 in rapid time. My asthma came back and I would get winded climbing stairs. My wife and I are wanting to start a family and we want to raise them in a healthy household. In addition we really want to get into homesteading and own a small farm a bit further down the line. Being fit enough to catch animals or small children would be a necessity.

My goal is to get down to 200 lbs and have under 20% body fat. 

I am switching to a "paleo light" diet. Including a small amount of rice, potatoes, and dairy. (My wife isn't on board with going full paleo so it is a good middle ground.

I've also been messing around at the gym but I am gonna get serious and plan my attacks. I have been doing the suggested warm up and I have been mainly focusing on doing what is going to be one of my goals for the up coming challenge, a pull up. I have never been able to do one and I am confident that I will be able to conquor this giant!

Cue inspirational Dwarf song!! 

"Gold Gold Gold Gold Gold Gold Gold"

If you get that reference we should be friends

Bjorn

Dwarven Ranger 2

Str. 2 Dex. 1 Con. 3 End. 3 Wis. 1 Cha. 1

Stronglifts 5x5

Squat (% of 270)

30%
30%

Deadlift (% of 360)

32%
32%

Overhead Press (% of 120)

50%
50%

Bench Press (% of 200)

32.5%
32.5%

Barbell Row (% of 180)

47%
47%

You've got your boomerang biscuits, right? Or are you more of close-combat battle-bread-wielder?

I prefer the versatility of a battle muffin. But I diversify as much as possible