Phoenix Burning and the G.I. Jane Challenge: Part 1

Everstorm

Introduction:  I am new to the Ranger's Guild, but not new to NF.  This is my...12th...challenge, I think?  Anywho, I just completed my long-term goal of running a Half-Marathon and am moving on to the next item on my dream goal list.

Current Goal:  I have set my sights on completing the Grand Prix in 2015.  It's a series of 7 races over 12 months designed by Marines to test your skills on a variety of levels.  The first three (comprising the "Trifecta") are mud runs, 5-6 miles each, one beach run, and three road runs from 5K-Half Marathon.  I am accustomed to running, but need A LOT of work on the upperbody strength and skill it will take to survive a mud run with the G.I. Josephs.  I have until February 7 to train for the first of these races, the Xtreme Challenge 10K.

1. Assorted running (3/week)

giphy.gif

I will choose a "run" from the following:

• Trail run/hike
  • Speed run (intervals, sprints, Tabata, etc)
  • Long run (for the purpose of this challenge, 3.5-5 miles)

2. Assorted bodyweight lifting (3/week)

200.gif

I will choose a bodyweight workout from the following:

• MovNat Movement of the Day (MOD)
  • Playground workout
  • GMB Parallettes for Beginners

3. Unassorted losing of weight without losing my Muchness (or my mind)

food_add.gif

I will eat Primal for two meals a day and track eating in "Lose It" app.

The running stuff is mostly for maintenance.  I really need to focus on the bodyweight training and bodyweight reducing.  Getting over obstacles is much easier when there is less of you to get over.

do-not-keep-calm-go-pt-oorah-.png

Oops!  Almost forgot.

Side quest:  National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) - write a 50,000 word novel between Nov 1-30.

giphy.gif

• Like 4

Life before Death

Strength before Weakness

Journey before Destination