Sir Shaggs: From Sloth to Honey Badger

Why a Honey Badger? 'cause they crazy! NSFW due to strong language

Prelude:

36 years old former United States Marine, husband of 15 years, father for 5 years of 1 child

I've been working behind a desk for 13 years, the last five being on 3rd shift. I can't live like this anymore. I need to do something more I want to go back but time travel is not readily available to the masses. So it starts here, now, my journey from a sloth to honey badger.

My final goal will be landing a job with a police department and finishing police academy, but before I can get there I need to set some short and intermediate goals. The first mile stone will be to complete the chips test in the 50th percentile so that I can stand out from the rest of the applicants and gain a seat in front of the oral board.

To pass the chips test in the 50th percentile I need to:

• Perform 36 situps in under a minute
  • Sit and Reach further than 16.5"
  • Perform 27 pushups in under a minute
  • Run 1½ miles in under 12:24

To complete these tasks I have chosen crossfit as my means.
I will follow a workout regieme as closely as my body will allow me as I am a newbie to crossfit and do not know where I stand in my physical standards, an initial assessment is a must.
I have found a beginners guide here on nerd fitness:

http://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/2012/03/01/a-beginners-guide-to-crossfit/
and will start with Cindy ( she seems like a swell girl) specifically:

AMRAP 20min:

• 3 Pull-ups
  • 6 Push-ups
  • 9 Squats

Time to gather my gear and head off to the gym

• Like 2

Sir Shaggs

Xeph Level  newb aspiring to ranger

Battle log

Six week challenge

Day 1

OMGWTFBBQ

so crosfit is serious business...I did NOT make a full 20 minutes.

I started out with a warm up:

• 2-3 minutes of jump rope (who cares if you mess up, push yourself!)
  • 25 jumping jacks (pull your shoulder blades back, extend arms and really focus on the movement)
  • 5 lunges (each leg)