Hola!  Former Lurker, now official noobie rebel here!  It's been pretty interesting and exciting to read up on the challenges and the fitness tips here that I finally decided to take the plunge and come out of the shadows!

I'm Puerto Rican, but raised a military brat, so I can't say I was raised on the island.  I'm used to moving around a bit during my childhood, teenagehood,, and beginning of adulthood, before settling down in beautiful, high altitude, low oxygen, Colorado.  I'm pretty short with a quick temper (prone to rages at things I read on tumblr), and while I never been heavy, I'm definitely not thin either, so I (and my husband...and my friends...and ALL my family members) consider me a dwarf.

I'm a geek by interests and a geek by profession (programming FTW).  I love anime, cinema (especially the superhero genre or animated films), and while I'm not a hardcore gamer, I love RPGs (Dragon Age, MMORPGs like SWTOR), action adventure games (Diablo franchise) and playing god (Sims).  I'm also very curious and I like to learn about...random topics; if I hear a term or concept that is interesting, I end up reading as much as I can about it on the net (Like Warhammer 40k.  No idea what it was until the hubs mentioned it, spent hours reading about).

So that's all cool and all, but I haven't gotten into why I am here.  I'm here cause while I've never been large, just average, I never been really fit, or seem strong.  I weigh more than I am comfortable, I carry more fat than I'd like, and if I don't watch my diet, I can end up diabetic (though my nuclear family is fit, the older generation are not and it's in the genes).  Sure it's not a big deal, I guess, but I want to feel strong physically and mentally.  I want to feel like I can protect myself and the people I care about, and I don't really feel like that (Jesus I sound like a shounen protagonist).