• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Companion

advice for hula hoop purchase?

I'm far from being an expert, but I am a novice hooper and might be able to help a bit.  If I stand my hoop on its end, the top is about 1-2" above my navel.  You can use hoops that are a lot smaller, but it is more challenging.  One of the ones I use is a cheapo kiddie hoop that is maybe 5-6" below my navel when standing upright, and it weighs next to nothing.  I can do just about everything with it that I can do with a bigger one.  One thing to consider is where you're planning on using it.  If you have very high ceilings or plan to be outdoors, the larger hoops would be a better choice.  If you're planning on working out in smaller spaces, a smaller hoop would be more ideal.  One of the main reasons I use the kid hoop is that I don't have the space to use my larger one for some of the off body moves when I'm working out in my basement.  

Weight of the hoop kind of depends on your goal.  If you mostly want to use the hoop for cardio/weightloss, heavier is better.  If you mostly want to do hoop dancing and tricks, lighter is better.  My big hoop is 2 lb, which is a bit on the heavy side for a lot of the tricks unless you're really strong.  

I hope that's at least a little helpful.  There are a lot of people in this guild who do hula hooping, so hopefully you'll be able to get more advice.  

Not in the guild, but was searching for hooping and ta-da here I am!