• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

MagicAnatomist

New to paleo..

Hey all!

I have started transitioning into a paleo diet. I know that healthy fats are not the enemy, but I still want to make sure I learn properly. For example, I have always been told boiled eggs over fried eggs (even if fried in avocado oil or coconut oil) because of the excess fat. Does it really matter? How should I make sure I get enough healthy fats without eating anything in excess? I am still learning and I am not really sure how to balance everything. 

Thanks!

I find the Whole30 meal template to be a helpful guideline. Between myself and Mr. Ripple we went through a Costco sized bottle of olive oil (and half a bottle of avocado oil) during our first Whole30 and we both lost weight - 16lbs for me and 12lbs for him. 

Oh, and I ate eggs prepared in ghee (clarified butter) for probably 50% of my total breakfast meals on Whole30. 

In short: embrace the fat. It's actually pretty hard to overeat on, and it helps you feel full/satisfied.

• Like 2

Thank you! That is what I gathered from multiple articles but I just wanted to be sure. It's hard to untrain your brain from conventional diet wisdom quickly, so I just wanted some rebel confirmation. Thank you for the helpful link!

Glad I could help. Honestly, on my first day of my first Whole30 I completely freaked out after making a salad for lunch and realizing that I had 4 tablespoons of olive oil in the dressing. (I made the salad too big, it was actually hard to eat the whole thing!) About halfway through I quit stressing about fats - I could tell I felt better and my clothes were fitting better. I also read the Whole30 book which has great information on how fats help keep you satisfied.