• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Bookworm_Tess

AFRAID of crossfit

My old gym turned into a box. I'd stopped going there when I got hurt last year but I always thought of going back to it when I felt confident enough.

I made a stress fracture on my knee, at the head of my left tibia. A few days later, trying to walk on that knee with Law textbooks in my backpack, I injured my spine, lower back, on the connective tissue. I believe it was due to being a total noob and jumping form couch to free weights to beach rugby in a six month interval.

Yesterday I was walking by the gym and saw it was empty! All the machines and weights were gone! But at the very end of it, a few women were practicing snatchs with empty bars. I got in and stroke up a conversation with the only man around, the one who had been resting lol. Turns out they set up a box there when the previous owner moved to another neighboorhood after greener pastures (my own neighboorhood is saturated with conventional gyms).

The guy sounded like he really knew what he was doing. He sounded like a good physical educator. He told me in crossfit they'd teach me the foundations of fitness and gymnastics movements and get me properly strong before going to the weightlifting movements.

And the thing is I covet gymnastics and love weightlifting.

But I'm afraid I'll get hurt again.

Crossfit looks so violent! With WODs and pushing and five workouts a week... I'm afraid my body won't be able to cope with that.

I still feel pain on my back and knee every once in a while. Everytime I'm PMSing at least.

Should I stay home and work on my push-ups and isometrics holds until I feel more confident...

or should I take the leap?

• Like 1