TMac's Quest for Body Confidence

tmac

Introduction:

I'm a 43-year-old business owner, married with 3 kids. My husband and I work together, both at home. It is a little too easy to sink into the living room couch in the morning with my laptop and just stay there. All day. Until after dinner when I move over to the couch in the TV room. We tend to eat mostly unprocessed food, as long as we avoid eating out, but I definitely tend toward too many calories.

After years of trying to figure out what the hell is going on with my body, I've finally been diagnosed with PCOS, a condition which has all sorts of unpleasant symptoms, including difficulty losing weight and other things that lead to a really poor body image, not to mention heightened risk of fun things like diabetes, strokes, and heart disease. But, now that I know what it is, I can go about fixing it. Medical recommendations include daily exercise and a consistent low-carb eating plan (50-60g carbs/day, which in practice eliminates grains and reduces legumes).

I also have a chronically bad back (frequent spasms and yearly blow-outs) and related sciatica symptoms (leg cramps and numbness). Movement and yoga seem to help, and weight loss should remove some of the pressure.

I started my current attempt at fitness on December 28 at 241 lbs. I'm now weighing in at 232.  I'm 5'10", and the charts say that the upper limit for a healthy weight is 170, so that's my goal. I've been following the below plans for two weeks now. I feel great and look forward to the workouts each day, so I think they're working for me. 

Eating Plan:

6 days = 50-60g carbs, up to 1500 calories

7th day = 2 meals on-plan (>20g carb, up to 400 cal); 1 "free" meal

Workout Plan:

Monday: Yoga + Beginner's Bodyweight

Tuesday: Yoga + Cardio Intervals (swimming)

Wednesday: Yoga + Beginner's Bodyweight

Thursday: Yoga + Cardio Intervals (rowing)

Friday: Yoga + Beginner's Bodyweight