Mark D's First Challenge

Mark D

Hi, I'm Mark D, this is my first challenge.  I'm a mainframe programmer by profession, my hobbies are fishing, reading, model trains.  I'm 51 years old, which probably makes me older than most of the folks here on NF.

Last November a doctor's visit revealed that I'd gained quite a bit of weight in the last year or so, and my blood pressure and cholesterol were high.  I began a weight-loss program, eating better, walking for exercise.  A few weeks ago I discovered Nerd Fitness while searching for body weight exercises, so I joined the Rebellion.  NF has been a great help and inspiration to me.  I've modified my diet, while not going full Paleo I'm using those guidelines to make good choices in what I eat, for instance choosing veggies instead of fries if I just HAVE to have a burger.   As of this morning I've lost 34 pounds since early November.  

My main quest is to lose weight and get in shape.  My motivation is that I want to have a long and happy life (including retirement) with my wonderful wife.

My quest for this six week challenge is twofold:

1) Lose ten more pounds.  That's actually a pretty modest goal, since I've been averaging ten pounds a month, but that brings us to quest #2:

2) Get stronger.  Specifically, get strong enough to do a proper push-up.  I've been doing inclined push-ups on a windowsill, and I can do more than I used to, but a true from-the-floor push-up has eluded me.  Of course I expect getting stronger to impact quest #1, since I should be adding muscle in addition to losing fat, but I don't think we can consider that a weight gain.

I also have a side quest:  After this challenge I hope to be strong and confident enough to begin a beginners weight-training program.  I'm leaning toward Stronglifts 5x5.  I think I'll be more capable and less discouraged if I strengthen up some more before I begin such a program.