• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Gainsdalf the Whey

What Lifting Goal Are You Most Excited About?

So I was thinking about it this weekend and the answer surprised me. I thought when I started lifting it would be squatting 400 (max ever is 250 7 years ago, currently working at around 200lb 5x5) or dead lifting 2x my body weight (max ever 400, working at 200 5x5). Both are pretty far off I think.

Honestly though, the thing I'm looking most forward to is putting my body weight over my head in the shoulder press. My shoulders and back have always been a huge weak spot for me in strength, and I'm really looking forward to changing that. There's something about cleaning the weight off the floor and pushing it over my head that I absolutely love.

I'm currently working out at a little over 100 lb 5x5's, and I should be adding 30 lb a month for the foreseeable future. I have not been having a difficult time with it yet, and I don't see myself stalling at all until close to 200 lb, so I'd still have 50 lb to go from there. I'm hoping to do it by mid summer. I have that picture in my head of an olympic barbell completely pressed up with 2 45's on either side and and look of triumph on my face that I push for every week and I can't wait until I reach it.

So I ask you fellow nerds, what goal are you most looking forward to hitting?

This is hard! *thinking, thinking*

My overall goal isn't one of numbers so much... I just really want to use those big ass plates. I want to squat them, press them, lift them, give them something to remember.. wait.. yeah. So, if I put that in number terms I guess I can't wait to be able to move my body weight and then some.

In the mean time, I can't wait to get my squat back up to where it was and break my deadlift goal for my challenge (which I think I could do right now for 1RM but I want to able 5x5 that bad boy).

easy, 5 x 135#