Oral Allergy Syndrome: healthy, crunchy snack alternatives?

merlin2oo2

Hey guys!

I've been lurking for a while, but this is my first time posting. I have a lot of issues that I need to address, but right now diet is probably the biggest one. I work semi-nights (3 p.m. to 3 a.m.), so my meal schedule is wonky to begin with, which means that I end up snacking a lot. The problem is, I'm having trouble finding healthy, low-calories snacks that I can eat. I know that the go-to snack for something crunchy and healthy is raw veggies (and I enjoy the taste), but I can't eat them because they make my mouth and throat itch like mad. Cooking solves this problem, but then they aren't crunchy anymore, and I love munching on crunchy things. Any suggestions for other healthy, crunchy snacks? I enjoy nuts as well, but the recommended serving sizes don't satisfy for long. I usually eat only one "real meal" in a day right now, so snacks account for a large portion of my daily calories. It's not uncommon for me to eat half a box of dry cereal overnight (like Frosted Mini Wheats or Froot Loops), and I know that's not healthy.   :(

• Like 1

that is interesting, because carrots and celery and peas are different plant families, and the odds you'd be allergic to all three are pretty low.  

I wonder if the real problem is something sprayed on the veggies.  Where did you get those veggies from, and did you use some kind of vegetable wash on them?

Every saint has a past, and every sinner has a future.

Hylian Assassin 5'5", 143 lbs.
Half-marathon: 3:02
It is pitch dark. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

I definitely second checking what's sprayed on your veggies, just to make sure you're not allergic to a preservative or pesticide.