The Bees' Knees - Challenge #1

beesknees

Newbie here! And late to the game (whoops!) Trying to find a way to keep myself accountable to working towards a healthier lifestyle.

Main Quest:

Ideally and just generally: I just want to feel better and healthier about myself. I'm currently in graduate school and working full time. I have about 2 years before my program is over, and it seems like the right time to keep in mind that: this time is going to pass whether or not I am in this program, and this time is going to pass whether or not I make a commitment to a healthier lifestyle. Might as well take advantage of the last couple years of my life in my 20's and shape up!

More specifically:

1. Lose around 15 pounds by late August

2. Eat more home cooked and less processed meals (and go for the salad/lighter options when out and socializing!)

3. Drink less beer! I love love love beer, but no need to have a beer at the end of the day on a Tuesday when I could just have a glass of water, might as well save that for a Saturday evening treat. I want to reduce my consumption to Fridays and Saturdays if I plan on having any.

SIX WEEK CHALLENGE #1

(Ok, not sure if I can keep up this point system because maybe it's complicated and maybe I'm going about this all wrong, but I'll see how it goes)

• Ride my bike to work when it's not raining at least 3-4 days out of the week.

1 point for every day I ride my bike. Total points possible per week = 7

• Only consume alcohol on Fridays and Saturdays (if that)

3 points each week I stick to this. -1 point each time I break this. Total points possible per week = 3

• Reduce eating out to 1-2 meals per week. This should also save me money!! :)

3 points each week I stick to this. -1 point each time I break this. Total points possible per week = 3

• Incorporate strength building into my routine (specifically, try out the beginner body weight work out).

​1 point each time I practice the BBWW. Total points possible per week = 7