Cutting/Bulking vs. minor long term deficit??

So I was reading through some forums yesterday and I started reading a thread about a discussion of building muscle. The general tone was that building muscle at a slight deficit over time is healthier for lifestyle changes than cutting/bulking cycles. 

They called the build at a deficit positive nitrogen balance. Later the same person said that slight deficits bulks (250-400 calories) don't have an impact on health but the more severe cycles aren't healthy. 

I'm on my first cut ever and it's a very slight one (350ish calories from maintenance) so I'm not sure if I should up it a hundred or so calories and just not do a bulk or continue doing slight cuts/bulks.....I'm on information overload. Any help is much appreciated. 

I'm not an expert and others may shoot me down here but I would just say that the human body is very adaptive. I would not have thought that cycling would cause any major problems and from my experience it is much easier to achieve than a constant slight deficit. Unless you're religiously counting calories (and probably even then) it would be difficult to know you are under maintenance when only reducing 200 calories or so.

Sorry, do you mean slight surplus rather than deficit for long term muscle building?

Are you trying to cut fat or build muscle? If you're running a deficit then the main goal is to cut fat. 

I've gone for slowly increasing my calories over time. It's a painfully slow recomp process but I'm building muscle without gaining weight (whilst slowly increasing my metabolic rate). When I get to a point that I'm too lean to continue then I'll have to go up a weight class and bulk a little (which I'll probably again go pretty slowly with).

• Like 2