New Recruit - Ooo Rah

Apologies & Warning to all ahead of time, with me there's no TL;DR

I am a thorough communicator, long-winded in speech and writing.

My name is Tom (aka Archon), I live in the Farmington Hills area of Detroit.  I nerd out to tabletop games: boardgames, card games (love deck builders), and RPGs (I run a D&D 4.0 game, that version per the player's request).  I also play a moderate amount of computer games.  I have cut down on the amount of computer gaming I do in the past month (working on improving my sleep habits), but I have 4 IRL friends who all play Heroes of Newerth (plus a couple other non-IRL), and I am a fan of all games Blizzard, though I have done minimal WoW.  I also love fantasy books (Martin, Rothfuss, Tolkien, Herbert).  I have no knowledge of comics or anime.  I am 29 years old, been married for 4.5 years, I stand 6'3" and weigh in ~270 lbs.

A week ago I discovered NF and I have since been reading a lot of the articles by Steve (probably ~50).  I am also super happy to be bring a few IRL friends with me (Bobby & Mike).  I will link to their intros & friend them when they get around to creating their accounts here (I am the trailblazer and this is all still new to me).  I have never been an active forumite on any forums in the past, but I have found a newfound love for myself and passion for my health.  BobbyBear's Intro

Reason for being here:

It has been a gradual realization over the past year that I have become unhappy with my life and particularly with my body.  Several major changes are happening in my life (more on that another time, but that is long story for another time).  For the past decade I have used up all my energy caring for someone else and not cared at all about myself.  Changing my life is about being healthy and fit because I care about myself, something I have not done in a long time.

The Changes I am making: