Mac's Slow Learnin'

Mac

Once again, I find myself running alongside the challenge train, jumping on at the last minute. I somehow thought the last challenge ended tomorrow, so I'm sprinting to catch up!

The last challenge (Mac Reboot) was the first one I had done in nearly two years (even though my avi shows me as a Newbie, I'm actually an Oldie, working on challenges since 2011, but as usual computers find ways to screw me over). ​I only did so-so on the last challenge but I sure learned a lot, starting with the fact that it's not so easy to restart habits once you've abandoned them. Some took again pretty good, some didn't. This challenge is a chance to analyze what worked and rethink my quest strategy. The number one most important but unwritten goal for this challenge: pay attention to the finish line of the damn challenge! The written goals are:

1. 90% FTW...and track it!

Last time, I tried to jump right back into my old successful habits of eating no grains, no sugars, no dairy 90% of the time, knowing that had worked well for me in the past. Well, it didn't work. I just flailed with this goal over the past six weeks. I still know that's a good goal, but I need to figure out why it was so hard for me last time. So, I'm going to try keeping a food journal, something that I've never done before. I'm hoping that adding a little accountability and quick opportunities for reflection will help me understand when and why I step away from my goals and if I need to give myself more or less leeway to find a happy balance without feeling deprived. I've been there before, so I'd like to understand why I'm not there now. I will make quick notes in a doc on my phone of what I eat (not calories or anything, just literally what I eat for each email, snack, etc) and if I am diverging from my goal, why I'm making that decision at that time.

2. Lift x 2, walk x 2, something else x 1