• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Xena

Xena doubles down

OK…first something I’m doing this 6-week period that’s not exactly part of the challenge…

Run 2 marathons ("double down" ).

I’m running a marathon at the end of week 1 and another at the end of week 6. I’m really out of shape now, so the second marathon should be much better than the first. Recovering, building back up, and tapering will be tricky. I have a lot of experience and I know what I need to do. This is my most important fitness goal right now, but I’m still thinking about how to work it into a specific challenge

Why am I doing this to myself? Reasonable question. I’m on a quest for 50 states (these would be #17 and #18). I’m doing the first because it was planned with friends a while back, before I knew my training would be interrupted by travel. I’m doing the second because it’s a good opportunity to knock out a state with a friend.

Actual challenge goals

1. Run 160 miles (including an attempt at 2 marathons). This goal is a little light, but it will force me to keep running.
  2. 500 pushups! These are scaled. Negatives count as 1 point, full pushups count as 3.
  3. Cross train – Goal is at least 10 times at the gym, typically alternating push and pull workouts. My normal plan would be to go twice a week, but I wanted a little flexibility with the marathon travel. Also I’m allowing full (1 hr+) vinyasa yoga classes to substitute. I think all this stuff is valuable, but I can’t do all of it at once.
  4. Swab the deck!  This is a sort of “adulting challenge†based on two types of chores:

“House elf†This is a list of 5 simple chores to do each morning. One point per day.

“Dreaded tasks† I have a list of 30 things of all sorts (some aren’t particularly dreaded). One point per task.

In theory 72 possible points, but I’ll be traveling for some of this. Going to set 50 points as the goal.

• Like 9