"Treats" for our kids

Today I was doing my groceries and saw a cute little chocolate santa. So I thought: "I'll just get that as a treat for my daughter".

Later, while I was loading my stuff in the car i finally realized how crazy that was. I started NF about a week ago and am working hard on cleaning up my diet and getting in shape. Then I go and buy chocolate for my daughter as a "treat"? Wacky world!

Shouldn't I be working on giving my daughter healthy treats, teaching her the life lessons I'm just learning now, as a adult. Won't she benefit more from knowing how to take care of herself and keep herself healthy then a sugary "treat" to satisfy my need as a parent to make her happy.

I'm obviously still in the fase where I'm becoming aware of the choices I make and the reasons behind those choices.

How do you guys feel about treats for kids? Have any of you made a conscious change in your child(rens) diets? How did that go over?

Hoping for some wisdom :-)

I try to avoid using food as a reward or special treat in general.  I feel like it sets people up for having an unhealthy relationship with food later on.  Even when I take them out for fro-yo, I try to frame it as, "Let's go out somewhere and do something, and maybe we can get fro-yo while we're out."

My .02. :)

My two year old happily munches on cucumbers at the shops, my one year old smashes blueberries. All in all our treats are basically fruit or vegetables. The kids occasionally get little bits of ice cream and desserts at family events, but we're quick to stress that eating too much will make them "slow like Grandpa".

"No-one tells a T-Rex when to go to sleep".

- Jim Wendler

Just get her into Shopkins.  They're cheap and small and not sugar.  (Only somewhat kidding)