Newbie here. Gamer, geek, you name it. MMO addict, Skyrim fan, I'm your run of the mill gamer girl. About...150 lbs overweight. *sigh* I've been overweight for a long time now. Started out on a good path, but had to move and lost a lot of progress. I'm trying to do Paleo or as close to it as I can. (I live with others, and they buy the food. If I want something specific I have to buy it myself. Right now, not really an option as I'm a broke college student.) I have access to the gym on campus for free, but I don't know where to start. I tried treadmills and that didn't seem to do anything for me. I've always been intimidated by free weights, but would like to learn.

I've cut out soda and am slooowly weaning myself off of coffee.

Where to go from here is the question...?

first off, welcome to the community!

now, onto the other stuff :) some advice (take it or leave it but it's helped me)

1) track what you eat for a couple weeks. i sometimes use sparkpeople.com but there are lots of websites out there. and even apps for your phone. look at how many calories you're eating on an average basis. depending on your particular body (assuming you're not working out much) you likely want to eat between 1200 to 2000 calories a day. don't go below 1200 with any regularity. look at the calories but also look at WHAT you're eating. how much of it is meat? veggies? fruit? breads? sweets? etc? healtheir foods will leave you feeling full for longer so, when you have the option of a healthy choice, try your best to take it.

2) look at not only what you're eating but WHEN and WHY. do you get hungry at 2pm everyday? do you eat when you're bored? these are things to keep an eye on because how you handle these two issues i really think can make or break you.