• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Bard

Lifting and glaucoma

Hi everyone,

I've been lifting on and off for a couple of years now (since I found this great site!)  I'm now trying to get back into it but I've hit an unexpected roadblock - medically apparently I'm not supposed to!

I have had glaucoma since I was 14 (a by product of the surgery for my congenital cataracts).  Essentailly glaucoma is too much pressure in the eye because the fluid in the eye doesn't drain properly.  The primary way of controlling it is with eye drops and they've been working for me for about 25 years (I'm now 40).

I came across an article the other day saying that lifting heavy weights, pushups and head down yoga poses are all bad.  The further reading I did on the subject indicated that one of the big issues with lifting is holding your breath although one site did word it in such a way that it indicated lifting itself was bad for eye pressure and the fact that you hold your breath just makes it worse.

On the positive side running (which I also love) actually decreases eye pressure so that's something but I'm wondering if anyone has any knowledge / experience or perhaps knows a doctor with experience in both glaucoma and fitness, who might be able to advise what else I can do aside from run to get fit which won't also hurt my eyes?

If anyone is interested, the research I've done has turned up the following studies:

This Japanese study indicates that exercise such as walking, jogging
 or running decrease intra-ocular pressure so are quite beneficial for
 glaucoma: https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/article/jjphysiol/45/4/45_4_561/_article

This British study indicates the same thing but goes on to say that
 "Exercises in which you stand on your head or shoulders or invert your
 body - as in upside-down yoga positions, scuba diving and bungee
 jumping - should be avoided as they can raise IOP. Exercises in which