• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

mkenyon2

Can I get a buddy to help me get in shape for hikes?

I've done a few section hike 2 or 3 day overnights on the AT. I've found that I top out at about 10 miles a day. 2 days of that and my knees and ankles start screaming. I've added trekking poles and a knee brace which helps. But I'm sure my weight (210 lbs) doesn't help.

It's January and spring is around the corner. I'm looking for folks to chat with online who will scold me when I don't get up and exercise in the morning, and help me along. Anybody willing to help? (I'm new to the rebellion.)

I'm looking to get more in shape this year for hiking also. I hope to do a multi day hike in Sept. I have never backpacked yet. My first backpacking trip is in early March. How do you plan on preparing? Or are you just looking for general fitness? My knees and ankles aren't up to par I think from the extra weight. I am in the middle of trying to put together a plan. 

In the past I would prepare by trying to walk a mile or 2 a day. But this was around my neighborhood without weight. On a trail things aren't as smooth, and depending on the gear you carry could be up to 30 lbs. I'm looking for general fitness. Would love to have a buddy to call me out on the carpet when I slip out of my routine. First tho, I need a good routine.

I'm thinking of setting a schedule where I exercise for 30 minutes each morning, and then walk the dog. I enjoy walking, but the dog seems to make it more of a drag, stopping so frequently.

• Like 1