Hey yo!

I'm new around here and looking for a little support in the trying-something-new-and-potentially-dangerous realm  :onthego:

About me: I'm a petite mid thirties girl (and Minecraft freak), and have spent the past 4 months loosing about 20 lbs. When I started I was doing HIIT workouts 3x a week, but that only lasted about 6 weeks before I had to put it on hold due to an unrelated injury. 

Fortunately, eating clean and walking was enough to keep the weight loss going through the holidays, but I'm all healed up now and doing basic, (mostly) body weight circuits at home regularly. (Some KBs, some hand weights & bands.)

I'm pretty close to my goal weight, maybe 5 more lbs to go, and am interested in getting started at a gym for heavy lifting to tighten up. 

As much as I don't want to admit it to myself, I'm intimidated by the weight room. I've been doing my research here and all over, but I've never done any lifting and don't really know what I'm looking at. I'm also new to my area and don't know anyone I can buddy up with to make the whole thing seem less scary.

I don't want to hurt myself, but I'm ready to take things to a new level (and maybe make some new gym friends...?)

Has anyone had this experience? Any advise for a weight room noob? I have a gym in mind where I dig the atmosphere, but haven't committed yet.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated! ~Cheers!

(edited for typos!)

Hey Meridith,

Congrats on the weight loss! 20 lbs in 4 months is really awesome and you should feel proud!

I'm also digging your desire to keep progressing. Weight training is a great next step that will give you more diversity in your fitness and help you reach other goals.

Believe me when I say everyone is nervous when they first start in the gym... and I mean EVERYONE!!! Even those 300 lbs juice monkeys started off on day one as skinny or overwieght kids fretting over anyone who looked their way. Point is, everyone starts off the same.